A History of Resolutions

Merry Christmas Eve, beasts. I did something cool today. I went over my past resolutions (starting from 2012) just to see where I was and where I am now.

In 2012 I had the simple goal of losing weight. I was doing bodyweight workouts (remember doing air squats, lifters?) and I lived off of cardio DvD’s. I was also practicing clean eating but never acknowledged how unstable it made me feel.

By 2013, I developed so much discipline. My resolutions were again simple, except a bit more extreme. I was only allowed to have 2 cheat meals per month. I quote myself: “You can eat one cookie in a month so you don’t feel like you’re depriving yourself.”

Give me a moment, I can’t seem to stop laughing at how ridiculous I was. It also scares me since 14-year-old Priyasha was restricting herself so much while creating an illusion that her diet offered some flexibility.

My resolution for 2014 was to get arms like Michelle Obama’s, get ‘ripped’, adopt the 80/20 diet (80% of your diet is clean, unprocessed food and 20% of your diet can be ‘treat foods’) and to start studying. I was also just lifting thrice a week and barely eating. By the end of 2014 I was tracking without a food scale (my bad) and doing carb cycling. Some days i’d only eat 60g of carbs, which obviously forced my lifting numbers to stay low.

This year. My resolutions were to study and hit PR’s. Pretty simple, right?

I have failed some of my resolutions. I can’t squat 30kg (but I can clean 29kg, at least). I can’t do bent over rows, the overhead press and upright row with 30kg either. I still can’t do push ups.  The only goal I successfully accomplished was the 60kg deadlift, and even then I have lost that PR at least thrice this year. During this year, life got in the way of lifting. My focus shifted to getting good grades and keeping my mind happy. This year was a war, a bloody struggle. So yes, some of my resolutions have fallen short. But by looking at my past resolutions and by looking at where I was then and where I am now, I am nothing less than PROUD.

Proud of myself for the PR’s, the immense physique transformation, the decent grades, the things i’ve learnt about lifting and my body. I know where I failed this year and i’m so determined to smash the goals that I haven’t already. I’m not revealing my resolutions for 2016 just yet, but I know what they are and I know exactly how i’m going to get it.

Embrace your human side, beasts. We all have failures. Failures are what fuel as to smash even bigger successes. Failing is quite honestly the best tool a person has in order to win in the future.

Leave a Reply

