Angry Workouts

The best PR’s and workouts are made when you’re absolutely down or furious about something. That’s the best time to lock everyone out, put in your earphones and just lift. Preferably do deadlifts, because anger calls for lifting an obnoxiously heavy barbell and then slamming it to the floor (don’t crack your floor though, your parents will get pissed)

I had a really good session on Wednesday. Here’s the breakdown.

Before I started my session, I did a tabata and ab warm up filled with jump squats, walking lunges, leg lifts, sit ups, high-knees and crescent stretches to ensure proper depth with my squats.

Movement/exercise Reps and Sets
Squat warm up sets 16kgx2x5
20kgx5
Working sets 25kgx6x3
28kgx6 (PR)
Cleans 30kg singles for 6 reps (PR)
Sumo and Conventional Deadlifts 50kgx5 (sumo pulls)
+60kgx3x2 (plates were 60kg, the barbell is either 5-6kg.) (PR)
56kgx3x5

This session was really important to me. It reminded me that no matter how down I felt, I could always rely on lifting to pick me back up. Remind me why i’m working so hard. Remind me of my ambition and my goals.

On another note:

I feel like i’m getting better with whatever was bringing me down in 2015. The anxiety and depression. You never really get rid of it, but you work with it, get stronger and learn how to cope with it. I’ve been taking things one at a time. Living life one day at a time. Journalling more, becoming more aware of my emotions. Meditating as often as I can. And most importantly, I stopped trying to control my emotions. You can never suppress or induce emotions. They can’t be stopped or started. So when you feel sad or angry, don’t suppress it or force it away. Let it happen. Breathe. Emotions demand to be felt, and they’re not there to upset you even more. They’re trying to tell you something.

So listen, and be kind to yourself. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

